London Symphony Orchestra

London Symphony Orchestra

Mahler Symphony No.7
Available from Friday, 16 June 2023, 5:00 PM to midnight AEST

For the first time ever, the London Symphony Orchestra's (LSO) performance of Mahler's Symphony No.7 will be available on Digital Stage, streaming free for one night only on Friday, 16 June 2023.

The LSO made a triumphant return to Australia in 2023, with internationally revered conductor Sir Simon Rattle leading his final tour as Music Director of the LSO.

Among the world’s finest orchestras, the LSO commenced its highly anticipated Australian tour at QPAC. Originally performed and filmed at the QPAC, feel the power of 114 musicians at their ‘magnificent, virtuosic best’ as they perform Mahler’s Symphony No.7.


Mahler’s Seventh is the dark horse of his symphonies. This fascinating and rarely performed masterpiece will intrigue and delight. No wonder it has become a signature work for Sir Simon Rattle. The heart of this symphony is ‘music of the night’, with Mahler taking inspiration from Mozart serenades and lovers singing beneath windows, creating a nocturnal kaleidoscopic dreamworld. Mahler Seven, says Sir Simon, follows a ‘journey from night to an almost blinding dawn’. Spend the night with Mahler and the LSO and you too can take that sonic and emotional journey.

Gustav Mahler Symphony No. 7 in E minor (1904-5)
Langsam (slowly)
- Allegro risoluto, ma non troppo
Nachtmusik I (Night Music)
- Allegro moderato
Scherzo. Schattenhaft (shadowy)
Nachtmusik II. Andante amoroso
Rhondo-Finale. Allegro ordinario

Sir Simon Rattle, conductor
London Symphony Orchestra

In Conversation with Sir Simon Rattle
Available from Friday, 9 June 2023

Watch an 'In Conversation with Sir Simon Rattle' to experience one of the world's greatest conductors. 

In this hour long event, Sir Simon shares his thoughts and aspirations with much-loved local music identity, Martin Buzacott, in a wide-ranging discussion that covers everything from music and life, to the challenges of presenting live music performances in the digital age.

Subscribe to Digital Stage for free to receive updates on London Symphony Orchestra’s Mahler‘s Symphony No.7 plus insider access to free, paid and on-demand content.

London Symphony Orchestra